Dunedin Mercedes-Trophy winners 2016


Matthew Smith and Caroline Pope (Armstrong Prestige) with winners Peter Hutchison and Les Wilson.
The annual Armstrong Prestige Dunedin MercedesTrophy Dealer Golf Day was hosted at the Otago Golf Club on Friday 1st April 2016. The tournament was the 9th and final regional dealer qualifying event for the MercedesTrophy New Zealand National Final, to be held at the Millbrook Resort in Queenstown from April 22 - 24.
A field of 44 Mercedes-Benz owners and their guests were treated to outstanding course conditions and VIP hospitality at the Otago district’s premier course, which has over 100 years of golfing tradition.
After 18 holes of tough competition, 2 eligible overall winners prevailed and will represent Armstrong Prestige Dunedin at the MercedesTrophy National Final at Millbrook Resort.
1. Les Wilson (The Hills GC) 42 pts
2. Peter Hutchison (Otago GC) 40 pts
Reintroduced in 2016 were daily prizes for two men’s handicap divisions and one ladies division. These winners included:-
Mens Division 1 (HCP 0 - 15)
1. Neil Walker (Taieri Lakes GC) 35 pts
Mens Division 2 (HCP 16 - 36)
1. Phillip Cooper (St Clair GC) 38 Pts
Women’s Division (HCP 0 - 36)
1. Gail Diack (Taieri Lakes GC) 38 Pts
Competitive Nearest to the Pin prizes sponsored by Mercedes Benz Financial Services were awarded on the day. The winners included:-
Near to Pin Men’s 7th: Murray Elliott
Near to Pin Men’s 12th: Les Wilson
Near to Pin Women’s 7th: Gail Diack
Near to Pin Women’s 15th: Tracy Lamb
As part of the Drive to the Major initiative, a Straightest Drive competition was also held on the day. The 18th hole at Otago Golf Club was chosen for this competition and resulted in a tie, with 2 players Garrick Tremain and Greg Paterson, driving their ball closest to the line.
Recognition was also given to Adam Gain who participated in the tournament with ‘The Newest Benz in the Carpark’.
The Armstrong Prestige Dunedin dealership team would like to take this opportunity to thank all participants for a wonderful day on the course, and wish all the golfers representing the dealership at the MercedesTrophy National Final the very best of luck.
We’d also like to thank our MercedesTrophy event sponsors and partners:
• Cathay Pacific
• TaylorMade-Adidas Golf
• Mercedes-Benz Financial Services